Information Technology (IT) Single

Information Technology Single

Exam Board & Qualification

Pearson BTEC Extended Certificate

What is it about?

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate (Single) in Information Technology is the equivalent in size to one A Level. It is designed for learners who are interested in an introduction to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, with or without an IT focus.

What will I be studying?

You will develop a common core of IT knowledge and study areas such as the relationship between hardware and software that form an IT system, managing and processing data to support business and using IT to communicate and share information.

What skills will I learn?

The transferable skills that universities and apprenticeships value including:

• the ability to learn independently

• the ability to research actively and methodically

• being able to give presentations and being active group members

• reading technical texts

• effective writing

• analytical skills

• creative development

• preparation for assessment methods used in degrees.

Will I have exams?

You will have 2 exam units. You will complete both of these exams in June of Year 12. You will then have the opportunity to retake these exams in January Year 13 and June Year 13 if required.

Unit 1: Information Technology Systems (33% of your final grade)

Written exam, explores the relationships between hardware and software that form an IT system. How we create them and what they are made up of.

Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information (25% of your final grade)

On screen practical exam, based around databases, focuses on how to build a system to manage, process and store data effectively.

Will I have coursework to complete?

You will have 2 coursework units each made up of multiple assignments. You will complete both of these in class, during Year 13. You will be given the opportunity to resubmit each assignment once, in line with Pearson Guidelines.

Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business (25% of your final grade)

How businesses use social media to promote their products & services and implement social media activities in a business to meet requirements.

Unit 6: Website Development (17% of your final grade)

Investigate website development principles before designing and developing a website using scripting languages.

Where might it lead me?

The study of IT particularly encourages development of research and analysis skills, project management and prioritising, effective communications, the practical skills of adapting and integrating, and the evaluation skills of assessing, interpreting and validating.

For progression to an apprenticeship, for example:

  • Computing
  • IT
  • Engineering
  • Business Management

For progression to a degree course, for example:

  • BSc (Hons) in Computer Animation
  • BSc (Hons) in Digital Media
  • BSc (Hons) in Web Technologies
  • BSc (Hons) in Information Systems

Who can I ask for more information about this subject?

Mr Pountney

Room 0048

Where can find more information about BTEC Level 3 IT Single?

Are there any specific subject requirements?

In line with Academy expectations.